Schedule for Parish Elections – 2nd May 2019

The next scheduled elections for the Cotswold District will be the District and Parish/Town elections on Thursday 2 May 2019. The table below gives key dates for the elections. Dates will be updated and a full timetable published in early 2019.

Event Election Working days before poll (deadline if not midnight) Date
Publication of notice of election All Not later than 25 days – not later than Tuesday 26 March Monday 18 March
Last date for applications for registration for first interim notice of alteration All   Monday 25 March
Last date for applications for registration for second interim notice of alteration All   Monday 1 April
Determination date for registration for the first interim notice of alteration All   Tuesday 2 April
Publication of first notice of alteration All Statutory: 19 days Wednesday 3 April
Delivery of nomination papers All – Statutory From the date stated on the notice of election up to 4pm on the nineteenth working day before the election From the day after the Notice of Election up to 4pm on Wednesday 3 April
Deadline for withdrawals of nomination All – Statutory 19 days (4pm) 4pm on Wednesday 3 April
Deadline for the notification of appointment of election agent District Council  19 days (4pm) 4pm on Wednesday 3 April
Publication of statement of persons nominated All – Statutory Not later than 18 days (4pm) Not later than 4pm on Thursday 4 April
Determination date for registration for the second interim notice of alteration All – Statutory   Tuesday 9 April
Publication of second interim election notice of alteration All Between 18 days and 6 days Wednesday 10 April
Deadline for receiving applications for registration All – Statutory 12 days Friday 12 April
First Issue of postal votes to Royal Mail All   Saturday 13 April
Deadline for receiving new postal vote and postal proxy applications, and for changes to existing postal or proxy votes All – Statutory 11 days (5pm) 5pm on Monday 15 April
Second Issue of postal votes to Royal Mail All   Wednesday 17 April
Opening of postal votes (1) All   Thursday 18 April at 2pm
Opening of postal votes (2) All   Tuesday 23 April at 2pm
Determination date for registration for the second interim notice of alteration  All – Statutory    
Deadline for receiving new applications to vote by proxy (not postal proxy or emergency proxies) All – Statutory 6 days (5pm) 5pm on Wednesday 24 April
Publication of notice of poll All – Statutory Not later than 6 days – not later than Wednesday 24 April Wednesday 24 April
Publication of final election notice of alteration All – Statutory 5 days Thursday 25 April
Deadline for notification of appointment of polling and counting agents All  5 days Thursday 25 April
Opening of postal votes (3) All   Thursday 25 April at 2pm
First date that electors can apply for a replacement for lost postal votes All 4 days Friday 26 April
Opening of postal votes (4) All   Saturday 27 April at 9am
Opening of postal votes (5) All   Wednesday 1 May
Polling day

 

All – Statutory 0 (7am to 10pm) Thursday 2 May
Last time that electors can apply for a replacement for spoilt or lost postal votes All – Statutory 0 (5pm) 5pm on Thursday 2 May
Deadline for emergency proxy applications All – Statutory 0 (5pm) 5pm on Thursday 2 May
Last time to alter the register due to clerical error or court appeal All – Statutory 0 (9pm) 9pm on Thursday 2 May
Opening of postal votes (6) All   Thursday 2 May @ 8pm

 

Verification of Votes All   After close of poll on Thursday 2 May
Counting of Votes District   Thursday 2 May
Counting of Votes Parish and Town   commencing at 2pm on Friday 3 May
Delivery of return as to election expenses (parish council elections only) Parish and Town Councils – Statutory Not later than 28 calendar days after the date of the election Thursday 30 May
Delivery of return as to election expenses District – Statutory Not later than 35 calendar days after the date the election result is declared If result is declared on Thursday 2 May: Thursday 6 June

If the result is declared on Friday 3 May: Friday 7 June

Make a change, make a comment?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.